into my twenties

okay, it’s about time to talk about my 20th birthday aka the happiest i have been in a long time!! (i’m not kidding, I cried with happiness haha) (also this doesn’t mean i’m not happy on a day to day basis, this is like superlatively happy) (ok enough with the brackets anna).

anyway, my birthday started off in an unusual way: I had three tests! yes, that’s right, from 9-10, 10-11 and 11-12 i had the dubious pleasure of completing a total of 55% towards three of my papers. (oh wow, i didn’t sum those percentages up until now – thank goodness i didn’t, i would have been terrified!)

nothing much to note about the tests, but in french my dear friend liani made me the most sensational cupcakes:

IMG_1123

and my friend Madeleine gave me a stunning card and chocolate bunny! and our lecturer made everyone sing me a “joyeux anniversaire” before handing out test papers- cheers constantin!

anyway, the tests went fine, and i promptly forgot all about them once i walked out at 12. Clara and I hurried off to meet Jess and go play with kittens! The students association was offering timeslots to go cuddle kittens as a stress release for students! so we toddled off and did that – i always forgot how deliciously soft baby animals fur is – so sweet!

we wandered back to the flat to unload books and laptops, and to meet Nelly to go out for lunch. i zipped back to mine to do so then came back and what a scene awaited me!

yes, that’s right – passionfruit meringue cupcakes and beautifully wrapped gifts!
IMG_7576

IMG_7618

i was so happy and overwhelmed! the funny thing is, the recipe box was for sale at a very cute shop in wanaka, and literally every time i went in the shop over summer I oohed and aahed over it- i thought it was just beautiful! and i reallllly wanted to buy it for myself. so when clara, nileesha, jess, lucy and madeleine gave it to me i was so so happy and amazed by their mind reading powers!

off we went to the favourite, morning magpie and had beautiful bagels:

IMG_1121

and sweet celia joined us and gave me such a cheerful bunch of flowers!

stunning flowers from my aunties:

IMG_0712

and a ring from the boys! i was so overwhelmed and delighted! they got in touch with my friends and family to find out my ring size, and chose this ring themselves – i was so happy with it, and it fits so nicely with my other rings: oh they are just so cute!!

IMG_0758
^^^the one on my index finger^^^

And my family was in town as it was school hols! so they picked me up and we went back to their accommodation where they gave me cards and presents:

Sooo many tears reading my darling mum’s card:

IMG_0313

and the most stunning presents: two gorgeous jumpers, a stunning black leather status anxiety bag, and the beautiful zoe and morgan shooting star ring!!

IMG_0757

I am the biggest fan of zoe and morgan and have been lusting after this ring for a year! suffice to say i was just over the moon (i’m running out of words for happy and overwhelmed, have you noticed?!)

then we went and had an amazing meal at Plato:

beautiful nibbly platter, champagne and fresh blue cod (which i’ve decided is my very favourite food, which, when you love food as much as i do, is a tough one!)

IMG_0756

IMG_0735

IMG_0765

white chocolate and raspberry cake for dessert, which was light as air (ryan “it’s like a sweet cloud”)
IMG_0774

 my partners in crime, who’ve been through the last 16 and 18 years with me respectively!

IMG_0338

back home to let everyone enjoy all the baked goods bestowed on me during the day, and i was given the sweetest loveliest cards that just about brought a tear to my eyes!

IMG_1124

what a perfect day! and i may be sentimental, but really just all the thought and effort and LOVE that went into all the special presents and sweet treats i was given was even more special than the gifts themselves. i am a self proclaimed lover of surprises and i sure got plenty (wonderful wonderful) ones that day.

thank you with all my heart to my friends and family, as I said multiple times during the day:
how did i get so lucky? how did i get to be surrounded by such wonderful, loving, gorgeous people? 
2 thoughts on “into my twenties

Leave a Reply

